EVIT radio students nominated for national awards

EVIT radio students nominated for national awards
Posted on 08/14/2023
This is the image for the news article titled EVIT radio students nominated for national awards

The Pulse Radio students/staff in EVIT’s Radio/Audio Production program were nominated as finalists 14 times in 11 different categories at the 2022-2023 John Drury National High School Radio Awards. The nominations were announced Monday, with the winners to be unveiled during an awards ceremony on Nov. 4.

EVIT 2023 graduate Aiden Mohr was nominated three times, for Best Newscast, Best Sportscast & Broadcaster of the Year. To be eligible for the Broadcaster of the Year award, students had to submit an entry in each of the news, sports & DJ/specialty music show categories. Meanwhile, 2023 graduate Rebecca Freeman was nominated in the Best Public Affairs Show category for her “Public Pulse” show that spotlighted the local non-profit group “Amplify Voices.” Freeman is also a finalist for Broadcaster of the Year. So are 2023 grads Alex Carlson & Bianca Grodecki. Grodecki is also a finalist for Best Featured News Story (about a key resignation at Google over AI). And 2023 alum Gus Martinez was named as a finalist in the Best Promo category for his EVIT Expo promo.

Three current EVIT students were also nominated, with the team of Adam Beadle & Jason Richey named finalists in the Best Sports Talk category, while Nick Shultz’s production about Veterans/PTSD is up for Best PSA. 88.7 FM/The Pulse was nominated in the Best Use of Social Media category for their “4th Annual Senior Salute” on Instagram. The station’s website, www.887thepulse.com, is a finalist for Best Website. In addition, Radio/Audio Production instructor Dave Juday was nominated for Best Radio Station Advisor.

This is the fifth year that EVIT students have competed in the John Drury High School Radio Awards, a national competition presented by North Central College in Naperville, IL and WONC-FM. In the previous four competitions, EVIT’s Radio/Audio Production program has won 11 awards, including four in 2020-21 when 88.7 FM/The Pulse was named Best High School Radio Station in the nation.